Susan’s Dance Journey

I cleared my 2012 calendar for death, anticipating that my mother’s time would be up the first part of this year.   Instead, life in the form of dance filled the space, both inner and outer!  I am thrilled to be dancing in Uhane with Jill, Terry, and the other unstoppable women. 

When I first participated in Moving Memoirs last fall, Jill and Terry’s visionary workshop for women over 60 with stories to tell, I had just celebrated the one-year anniversary of my double total hip replacement surgery.  But the surgery wasn’t the reason I wasn’t moving.  After all, I had already gone back to my three- times-a-week salsa class.  It was fear that kept me glued to my seat.

Little by little, however, I began to accept the gentle invitations to move freely, without boundaries, without judgment.  Jill and Terry created a generous space for all.  Soon, I was following my own instincts to move.   Although I was still sitting a lot, I felt more and more comfortable in my own body.

Finally, at the end, I danced salsa, shaking my hips and swaying my arms.  It was the first time I had ever danced by myself in public!  

Leave a Reply

